Afterschool Ambassadors

The Afterschool Alliance's Afterschool Ambassador program identifies afterschool providers and advocates of special achievement and helps them raise their voices in support of afterschool.

The Afterschool Alliance's Afterschool Ambassador program identifies afterschool providers and advocates of special achievement and helps them raise their voices in support of afterschool.

Selected from some of most effective afterschool programs and advocacy organizations in the nation, Ambassadors work every day to help keep kids safe, inspire children to learn and help working families. They know firsthand the barriers and benefits that communities face in making afterschool available to all children. The Alliance selects 12 to 20 Ambassadors from around the country each year, and then provides training, technical support, and modest funding for their Ambassadorial activities throughout the school year. Those activities include: coordinating a major Lights On Afterschool community event; working in concert with other local providers, advocates and business and community leaders to promote afterschool; reaching out to policy makers and the media on afterschool issues; and more.

The 2022 Afterschool Ambassadors are listed below. To see previous years' participants, see our Ambassador Emeritus page.  Ambassadors are chosen by application in the spring. For information on how to apply to become an Ambassador, contact the Afterschool Alliance, or call (202) 347-2030.

Jenna Andrews

Beyond the Bell
2500 Glenn Ave., Suite #78
Sioux City, IA 51106
712-202-3543
jandrews@siouxlandship.org
+ Read News Release

Jane Beck

Project GRAD Kenai Peninsula
PO Box 1825
Homer, AK 99603
907-235-1062
Jbeck@kpbsd.k12.ak.us
+ Read News Release

Andrew Blickle

Life Pieces To Masterpieces
5600 Eads St NE, 4th Floor
Washington, DC 20019
202-399-7703
ablickle@lifepieces.org

Monique Ealey

Mississippi Children’s MuseumLaunch into Learning Afterschool Program
2145 Museum Blvd.
Jackson, MS 39202
601-709-8970
monique@mcm.ms
+ Read News Release

Crystal Ehlig

Rogue Valley Family YMCA
522 W. 6th Street
Medford, OR 97501
541-772-6295 ext 105
cehlig@rvymca.org

Michael Farmer

Step By Step WV
415 Dickinson Street
Charleston, WV 25301
304-414-4452
mfarmer@stepbystepwv.org

Sil Ganzó

ourBRIDGE for KIDS
3925 Willard Farrow Drive
Charlotte, NC 28215
980-272-6022
Sil@joinourbridge.org

Angel Gomez

YouthCity - Fairpark
155 North 1000 West BLDG. 33
Salt Lake City, UT 84116
385-495-8960
Angel.gomez@slcgov.com
+ Read News Release

Jennifer Hartman

Wichita Public Schools STEALTH Afterschool
903 S. Edgemoor – Room 507
Wichita, KS 67218
316-973-4641
jhartman@usd259.net
+ Read News Release

Michael Hirsch

Loveworks Leadership
151 12th Ave SE Suite #100
Norman, OK 73071
405-397-9576
michael@loveworksleadership.org
+ Read News Release

Nancy Leach

Hyde 21st Century Community Learning Center, Hyde County Schools
PO Box 812
Ocracoke, NC 27960
252-921-0372
nleach@hyde.k12.nc.us

Jarvis Mullahon

Hanaa'dli Office of Dine Y.O.U.T.H. - Crownpoint Agency, Huerfano Youth Center
P.O. Box 968
Bloomfield, NM 87413
505-960-2242
jarvismullahon@nndode.org

Manuel “Manny” Padia

City of Glendale Recreation Programs
6210 W. Myrtle Avenue, Building B
Glendale, AZ 85301
623-930-2961
mcpadia@glendaleaz.com
+ Read News Release

Arthur Pearson

Thompson Island Outward Bound
PO Box 127
Boston, MA 02127
617-771-6297
apearson@thompsonisland.org
+ Read News Release

Mackenzie Steadman

Middlesex YMCA Kids’ Korner Before and Afterschool Programs
99 Union Street
Middletown, CT 06457
860-343-6211
msteadman@midymca.org

Taylor Trelka

Project Dream with the Lake County School District
328 W 5th St
Leadville, CO 80461
719-427-7003
ttrelka@lakecountyschools.net
+ Read News Release

Shannon Yost

Flipside Afterschool Program
221 Washington St.
Fairmont, WV 26554
304-366-4550 ext. 104
shannon@tvunitedway.org
+ Read News Release