Afterschool Ambassadors

The Afterschool Alliance's Afterschool Ambassador program identifies afterschool providers and advocates of special achievement and helps them raise their voices in support of afterschool.

The Afterschool Alliance's Afterschool Ambassador program identifies afterschool providers and advocates of special achievement and helps them raise their voices in support of afterschool.

Selected from some of most effective afterschool programs and advocacy organizations in the nation, Ambassadors work every day to help keep kids safe, inspire children to learn and help working families. They know firsthand the barriers and benefits that communities face in making afterschool available to all children. The Alliance selects 12 to 20 Ambassadors from around the country each year, and then provides training, technical support, and modest funding for their Ambassadorial activities throughout the school year. Those activities include: coordinating a major Lights On Afterschool community event; working in concert with other local providers, advocates and business and community leaders to promote afterschool; reaching out to policy makers and the media on afterschool issues; and more.

The 2016-2017 Afterschool Ambassadors are listed below. To see previous years' participants, see our Ambassador Emeritus page.  Ambassadors are chosen by application in the spring. For information on how to apply to become an Ambassador, contact the Afterschool Alliance, or call (202) 347-2030.

Dorinda Belcher

White Salmon Valley School District
P.O. Box 631
White Salmon, WA 98672
(509) 493-1502
Dorinda.belcher@whitesalmonschools.org
+ Read News Release

Tom Haggard

Covington Partners
257 W. Pike Street
Covington, KY 41011
(859) 392-3176
tom.haggard@covington.kyschools.us
+ Read News Release

David Haggerty

Morristown Neighborhood House
62 Elm Street
Morristown, NJ 07960
(973) 538-1229
dhaggerty@cfp-mnh.org

Danielle Hovenga

The Univeristy of Tulsa
800 S. Tucker Drive
Tulsa, OK 74104
(918) 631-3303
Danielle-hovenga@utulsa.edu
+ Read News Release

Rebecca Idzikowski

Clare-Gladwin RESD
4041 East Mannsididng Road
Clare, MI 48617
(989) 386-8673
ridzikowski@cgresd.net

Robin Nelson

Boys & Girls Clubs of the Red River Valley
2500 18th Street South
Fargo, ND 58103
(701) 235-2147
robin@bgcrrv.org
+ Read News Release

Sierrra Newhouse-Ragoonanan

City of Orlando After-School All-Stars
400 S. Orange Avenue
Orlando, FL 32802
(407) 246-3819
sierra.newhouse@cityoforlando.net

Jennifer Pettyjohn

Boys & Girls Clubs of the Clinch Valley
1305 Chatam Ridge Lane
Knoxville, TN 37932
(865) 244-6073
JPettyjohn@bgccv.org

Justin Pinn

Breakthrough Miami
818 NW 55th Terrace
Miami, FL 33127
(305) 615-0222
pinnj15@gmail.com

Ben Rediske

Camp War Eagle
922 E. Emma Avenue
Springdale, AR 72764
(479) 750-2006
ben@campwareagle.org
+ Read News Release

Terrell Sample

Dorchester County Public Schools
700 Glasgow Street
Cambridge, MD 21613
(410) 228-4747
samplet@dcpsmd.org

Matt Sampson

Boys & Girls Clubs of Western Nevada
1870 Russell Way
Carson City, NV 89706
(775) 882-8820
matts@bgcwn.org
+ Read News Release

Samuel Trevathan

Kids Orchestra
P.O. Box 788
Baton Rouge, LA 70821
(225) 922-4656
strevathan@kidsorchestra.org

Veronica Willeto

Pryor Public Schools 21st CCLC
#1 High School Lane
Pryor, MT 59066
(406) 259-7329
vwilleto@pryor.k12.mt.us

Tony Yungeberg

Valley Heights Community Education
121 East Commercial Street, Box 136
Waterville, KS 66548
(785) 363-2211
tyungeberg@valleyheights.org