PrintEmailShare

Afterschool Ambassadors

The Afterschool Alliance's Afterschool Ambassador program identifies afterschool providers and advocates of special achievement and helps them raise their voices in support of afterschool.

Selected from some of most effective afterschool programs and advocacy organizations in the nation, Ambassadors work every day to help keep kids safe, inspire children to learn and help working families. They know firsthand the barriers and benefits that communities face in making afterschool available to all children. The Alliance selects 12 to 20 Ambassadors from around the country each year, and then provides training, technical support, and modest funding for their Ambassadorial activities throughout the school year. Those activities include: coordinating a major Lights On Afterschool community event; working in concert with other local providers, advocates and business and community leaders to promote afterschool; reaching out to policy makers and the media on afterschool issues; and more.

The 2013-2014 Afterschool Ambassadors are listed below. To see previous years' participants, see our Ambassador Emeritus page.  Ambassadors are chosen by application in the spring. For information on how to apply to become an Ambassador, contact the Afterschool Alliance, or call (202) 347-2030.

Jaynemarie Enyonam Angbah
The Children's Aid Society
105 E. 22nd Street
Suite 517
New York, NY 10010
212-381-1187
jaynemariea@childrensaidsociety.org

Richard Bates
Young Audiences of Louisiana
615 Baronne Street
#201
New Orleans, LA 70113
504-523-3525
richard@ya4la.org

Wendy Broderick
YMCA of Columbia
1612 Marion Street
Suite 100
Columbia, SC 29201
803-748-9622 x113
wendybroderick@columbiaymca.org

Forrest Carter Jr.
Seabrook Adventure Zone
P.O. Box 873
Seabrook, NH 3874
603-474-3332 Ext 3
forrest@seacoastyouthservices.org

Kim Chappelow-Lee
Johnson County Park & Recreation District
6501 Antioch Road
Merrriam, KS 66202
913-831-3355
kim.chappelow-lee@jocogov.org

Brent Cummings
Walla Walla Public Schools
364 S. Park Street
Walla Walla, WA 99362
509-526-1929
bcummings@wwps.org

Wendy Etheridge Smith Ph.D.
Higher Achievement Pittsburgh
211 N. Whitfield Street
Suite 475
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
412-605-8448
wetheridgesmith@higherachievement.org

Tina Fleming
Gwinnett County Parks and Recreation
75 Langley Drive
Lawrenceville, GA 30046
770-822-8875
tina.fleming@gwinnettcounty.com

Diana Gonzales Worthen Ph.D.
OneCommunity
P.O. Box 261
Springdale, AR 72765
479-872-1977
dworthen@uark.edu

Robert Hill
YMCA of Broward County
900 SE 3rd Ave.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33316
954-907-7054
rhill@ymcabroward.org

Ben Johnson
Carmel Clay Parks & Recreation
1235 Central Park Drive East
Carmel, IN 46032
317-573-5240
bjohnson@carmelclayparks.com

Amber May
Operation Shoestring
1711 Bailey Avenue
Jackson, MS 39203
601-353-6336
amay@operationshoestring.org

OMARI McCLEARY
Good Shepherd Services
692 Blake Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11207
917-755-6193
omari_mccleary@goodshepherds.org

Heather Moyer
LifeSpan School and Day Care
2460 John Fries Hwy
Quakertown, PA 18951
267-347-0985
hmoyer@lq.org

Bettye Anne Older
Straughn Elementary School
29324 Straughn School Road
Andalusia, AL 36421
334-427-1311
bettyeanne.older@cov.k12.al.us