Afterschool Ambassadors

The Afterschool Alliance's Afterschool Ambassador program identifies afterschool providers and advocates of special achievement and helps them raise their voices in support of afterschool.

The Afterschool Alliance's Afterschool Ambassador program identifies afterschool providers and advocates of special achievement and helps them raise their voices in support of afterschool.

Selected from some of most effective afterschool programs and advocacy organizations in the nation, Ambassadors work every day to help keep kids safe, inspire children to learn and help working families. They know firsthand the barriers and benefits that communities face in making afterschool available to all children. The Alliance selects 12 to 20 Ambassadors from around the country each year, and then provides training, technical support, and modest funding for their Ambassadorial activities throughout the school year. Those activities include: coordinating a major Lights On Afterschool community event; working in concert with other local providers, advocates and business and community leaders to promote afterschool; reaching out to policy makers and the media on afterschool issues; and more.

The 2016-2017 Afterschool Ambassadors are listed below. To see previous years' participants, see our Ambassador Emeritus page.  Ambassadors are chosen by application in the spring. For information on how to apply to become an Ambassador, contact the Afterschool Alliance, or call (202) 347-2030.

Nate Clark

John Deere Foundation
One John Deere Place
Moline, IL 61265
(309) 748-7960
clarkcnathan@johndeere.com

Ayana Crichton

Cranston Public Schools
135 Gansett Ave
Cranston, RI 02910
(401) 270-8017
acrichton@cpsed.net
+ Read News Release

Sarah Cruz

Newark Public Schools
230 broadway
Newark, NJ 07052
(973) 412-1910
s5cruz@nps.k12.nj.us

Daniela Grigioni

After-School All-Stars DC
1331 H Street NW Suite 1100
Washington, DC 20005
(202) 805-5628
daniela@as-as.org

Lissa Hall

Moutain Home AFB Youth Programs
580 5th Ave.
MHAFB, ID 83648
(208) 828-4428
lissa.hall.1@us.af.mil
+ Read News Release

Eric Vanden Heuvel

Boys and Girls Club of Green Bay, WI
311 S Oneida St
Green Bay, WI 54303
(920) 494-7090 , x1052
evandenheuvel@bgcgb.org
+ Read News Release

Tammera Holmes

AeroStar Avion Institute
18270 Anthony Avenue
County Club Hills, IL 60478
(708) 646-4300
tholmes@aerostarcorp.com

Debra Jones

Youth Development Coalition of Lincoln County
P.O. Box 1062
Newport, OR 97365
(541) 351-1160
djones@halc.info
+ Read News Release

Jeremy King

City of Tempe-Kid Zone Enrichment Program
3340 E. Rural Rd
Tempe, AZ 85282
(480) 350-5487
jeremy_king@tempe.gov
+ Read News Release

Bill McClain

Guiding Institute for Developmental Education
1001 South Marshall Street, Suite 16, Box 43
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
(336) 602-0565
bill.tcewp@gmail.com

Betsey McFarland

Wade Edwards Foundation & Learning Lab
714 St. Mary's St.
Raleigh, NC 27605
(919) 856-9233 x101
bmcfarland@wade.org
+ Read News Release

Maria Mitter

Eastern Michigan University
203 Boone Hall
Ypsilanti, MI 48197
(734) 612-2521
marialmitter@gmail.com
+ Read News Release

Beth Ohline

Bear-Glasgow YMCA
351 George Williams Way
Newark, DE 19702
(302) 836-9622 x125
bohline@ymcade.org

Tamra Mander Petersen

Uinta B.O.C.E.S. #1 Education Center
1013 West Cheyenne Drive Suite A
Evanston, WY 82930
(307) 679-2626
tpetersen@uintaeducation.org
+ Read News Release

Amy Pichette

LearningWorks
181 Brackett St
Portland, ME 04102
(207) 775-0105 x 164
apichette@learningworks.me
+ Read News Release