Congressional Caucuses

On March 3, 2005, Members of Congress announced that in order to build support for afterschool programs and increase resources for quality afterschool care, they would establish the first-ever Afterschool Caucuses in the Senate and the House of Representatives. Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska) and Sen. Tina Smith (D-MN); and Rep. Nita M. Lowey (D-N.Y.) and Rep. Don Young (R-AK) serve as current chairs of the bipartisan Caucuses.

Current members of the Afterschool Caucuses for the 116th Congress are listed below.

Ask your senators and representative to show their support for afterschool programs by joining the Afterschool Caucuses!

Click here to read a press release about the launch of the Afterschool Caucuses.

Current members of the Afterschool Caucuses:

United States Senate Afterschool Caucus Members

  1. Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska)
  2. Sen. Tina Smith (D-MN)
  3. Sen. John Boozman (R-Ark.)
  4. Sen. Diane Feinstein (D-Calif.)
  5. Sen. Christopher Coons (D-Del.)
  6. Sen. Richard Durbin (D-Ill.)
  7. Sen. Jerry Moran (R-Kan.)
  8. Sen. Susan M. Collins (R-Maine)
  9. Sen. Angus King (I-Maine)
  10. Sen. Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.)
  11. Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.)
  12. Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)
  13. Sen. Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.)
  14. Sen. Robert Menendez (D-N.J.)
  15. Sen. Tom Udall (D-N.M.)
  16. Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.)
  17. Sen. Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.)
  18. Sen. Robert Casey, Jr. (D-Pa.)
  19. Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.)
  20. Sen. Jack Reed (D-R.I.)
  21. Sen. John Thune (R-S.D.)
  22. Sen. Bernard Sanders (I-Vt.)
  23. Sen. Patty Murray (D-Wash.)
  24. Sen. Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.)
  25. Sen. Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.)
  26. Sen. Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisc.)

United States House Afterschool Caucus Members

  1. Rep. Nita Lowey (D-N.Y.)
  2. Rep. Don Young (R-Alaska)
  3. Rep. Terri Sewell (D-Ala.)
  4. Rep. Doris Matsui (D-Calif.)
  5. Rep. Barbara Lee (D-Calif.)
  6. Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-Calif.)
  7. Rep. Adam Schiff (D-Calif.)
  8. Rep. Susan Davis (D-Calif.)
  9. Rep. Joe Courtney (D-Conn.)
  10. Rep. Rosa DeLauro (D-Conn.)
  11. Rep. John Larson (D-Conn.)
  12. Rep. Alcee Hastings (D-Fla.)
  13. Rep. Kathy Castor (D-Fla.)
  14. Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-Fla.)
  15. Rep. David Loebsack (D-Iowa)
  16. Rep. Mike Simpson (R-Idaho)
  17. Rep. Janice Schakowsky (D-Ill.)
  18. Rep. Bobby Rush (D-Ill.)
  19. Rep. Dan Lipinski (D-Ill.)
  20. Rep. Danny Davis (D-Ill.)
  21. Rep. Andre Carson (D-Ind.)
  22. Rep. Richard Neal (D-Mass.)
  23. Rep. Stephen Lynch (D-Mass.)
  24. Rep. Jim McGovern (D-Mass.)
  25. Rep. Chellie Pingree (D-Maine)
  26. Rep. Dan Kildee (D-Mich.)
  27. Rep. Betty McCollum (D-Minn.)
  28. Rep. Bennie Thompson (D-Miss.)
  29. Rep. David Price (D-N.C.)
  30. Rep. Brian Higgins (D-N.Y.)
  31. Rep. Carolyn Maloney (D-N.Y.)
  32. Rep. Greg Meeks (D-N.Y.)
  33. Rep. Jose Serrano (D-N.Y.)
  34. Rep. Tim Ryan (D-Ohio)
  35. Rep. David Cicilline (D-R.I.)
  36. Rep. Jim Langevin (D-R.I.)
  37. Rep. Joe Wilson (R-S.C.)
  38. Rep. Jim Cooper (D-Tenn.)
  39. Rep. Al Green (D-Texas)
  40. Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (D-Texas)
  41. Rep. Lloyd Doggett (D-Texas)
  42. Rep. Henry Cuellar (D-Texas)
  43. Rep. Rick Larsen (D-Wash.)
  44. Rep. Adam Smith (D-Wash.)

Check back to see if your Senators and Representatives have joined the Afterschool Caucuses!