AFTERSCHOOL IN

California


Afterschool programs in California keep kids safe, inspire learning, and give working parents peace of mind. Kids discover who they are and what they love to do, make smart choices, and avoid risky behaviors.

Unmet demand for afterschool and summer programs in California is high

1.4m

In 2019, 1,385,680 children (21%) would have been enrolled in a summer program if one were available to them.

Afterschool programs are supporting kids and families in California

Kids in afterschool enjoy a wide range of benefits, and parents and families benefit too:

78%

Keeping kids safe and out of trouble

84%

Giving working parents peace of mind

82%

Engaging kids in STEM learning

83%

Helping kids build
life skills

82%

Providing kids physical activity

California parents strongly support afterschool

88%

of parents support public funding for afterschool

21st Century Community Learning Centers are the only federal funded before-school, afterschool, and summer learning programs.

TODAY

FY 2021

148,460*

of kids enrolled in California afterschool attend a 21st CCLC program

$148,460,316

in federal funds supports 21st CCLC programs statewide

PROPOSED BUDGET

FY 2022

160,359

kids served in California

$160,358,917

to California

Learn more about 21st Century Community Learning Centers

* This figure is an Afterschool Alliance calculation based on the state-allocated 21st CCLC funding and a program cost of $1,000 per child. The program cost per child is an Afterschool Alliance estimation based on the Department of Education's per-student expenditures for: (1) all students attending 21st CCLC programs and (2) students who regularly attend 21st CCLC programs.

Learn More about Afterschool in California

California Contacts

NETWORK
AMBASSADORS
CAUCUS
VISTA

The statewide afterschool network is working to ensure that all kids have access to high-quality afterschool and summer learning programs.

Jeff Davis
California AfterSchool Network
1102 Q Street
Suite 4800
Sacramento, CA 95811
jdavis@afterschoolnetwork.org
https://www.afterschoolnetwork.org

AMBASSADORS work to ensure that all kids have access to high-quality afterschool and summer learning programs.

Ambassador Emeritus
Tariq Norris
The Hidden Genius Project
2934 Telegraph Ave.
Oakland, CA 94609
510-414-8881
tariq@hiddengeniusproject.org

Ambassador Emeritus
Pamela Brasher
Brasher Consulting
1672 Daybreak Pl
Escondido, CA 92027
pamela.g.brasher@gmail.com

Ambassador Emeritus
Stephanie Roberts
Mt. Diablo CARES
1026 Mohr Lane
Concord, CA 94518
925-682-8000 x6203
robertss@mdusd.k12.ca.us

Ambassador Emeritus
John Poch
San Jose Sports Authority
408 Almaden Boulevard
San Jose, CA 95110
408-288-2935
john@sjsa.org

Ambassador Emeritus
Mary Hoshiko Haughey
YMCA of Silicon Valley
80 Silicon Valley
Santa Clara, CA 95051
408-351-6422
mhaughey@ymcasv.org

Ambassador Emeritus
Steve Amick
THINK Together
2101-A E. Fourth Street
Santa Ana, CA 92705
619-672-4673
samick@thinktogether.org

Ambassador Emeritus
Anna Araujo
East Los Angeles Rising
324 North McDonnell Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90022
323-263-4955 x105
anna@risinginc.org

Ambassador Emeritus
Cathie Mostovoy
Mostovoy Strategies, LLP
Upland, CA 310-936-8207
cathie@mostovoystrategies.com

Ambassador Emeritus
Jaynemarie Enyonam Angbah
Charles and Lynn Schusterman Family Philanthropies
625 S. Market Street, Suite #700
San Francisco, CA 94105
415-528-7630
jangbah@schusterman.org

Ambassador Emeritus
Kasey Blackburn-Jiron
West Contra Costa Unified School District
6028 Ralston Avenue
Richmond, CA 94805
510-307-4652
kasey.blackburn-jiron@wccusd.net

Ambassador Emeritus
Leslie Einhorn
Children's After School Arts
584 Castro Street, #264
San Francisco, CA 94114
415-493-8897
leslie@casasf.org

Since 2005, members of the Afterschool Caucus in both the Senate and the House of Representatives have been building support and resources for quality afterschool programs.

Caucus members in your state:

Rep Doris Matsui (D-CA)

Rep Barbara Lee (D-CA)

Rep Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)

Rep Adam Schiff (D-CA)

Rep Susan Davis (D-CA)

Sen Diane Feinstein (D-CA)

For the past 7 years, the Afterschool Alliance has been a proud sponsor organization for national AmeriCorps VISTA projects, supporting State Afterschool Networks and STEM Ecosystems to increase the access to and quality of enrichment opportunities for youth.

Currently there are no Afterschool VISTA locations in your state.

TAKE ACTION!

Tell Congress to save California's afterschool programs!

Sign the petition to support afterschool!

Donate $10 to help 4 kids have afterschool